Batman: The Animated Series – An Episodic Exploration

batman-animated-series

Today is the day I began the Episodic Exploration of “Batman: The Animated Series” or “Batman: TAS.” It was one of the first shows I ever saw as a child and inspired by own writing and creativity in it’s dark and whimsical bent…it was what introduced me to Batman since I didn’t see Burton’s “Batman” until I was older. I plan to review some episodes every week until I’m through the entire series, after that a new show that may or may not be in the DC Animated Universe, but a list of my top episodes will also be there for the final review tied this series. Bruce Timm deserves appreciation for the fantastic work he did with his art and multiple series.

“Batman: The Animated Series” was created by Bruce Timm who in turn created the rest of the DC Comics animated universe including “Superman: The Animated Series,” “Justice League” and “Justice League: Unlimited,” “Batman Beyond,” “The Adventures of Batman and Robin,” and “The New Batman Adventures.” All of these minus “Superman” which I haven’t watched yet were shows I grew up with and love to this day.

This was the show that introduced me to some of my favorite comic book villains such as The Joker, Two-Face and Scarecrow. The show also has the best Batman and Bruce Wayne, which I’ll go into more when I eventually get to the films. How the handled is story made him more than just a dark and brooding sociopath with a justice streak…he was able to connect to people and form real friendships while never becoming paralyzed or inept like many of the movie Batman were. Kevin Conroy also does the voice change between Bruce Wayne and Batman so naturally. This series also had my favorite Two-Face where his backstory and drive are truly explored and one of my favorite Jokers. Mark Hamill’s Joker…That laugh…not to mention he is dangerous as well as funny.

The show isn’t completely gold, there are some dud episodes, which is why I plan to take it in order so that it can be taken as a whole with new eyes.

Leave a Reply

