Apocalypse Week – Movies and Television About the Apocalypse

Apocalypse

There is a great human fascinating with the end of the world. We see this in our stories, religions (all of which usually express some sort of final end or change to a time or cycle). I think I know at least part of the reason why this is.

It is when things end or change that the best and worst of humanity is revealed. This is true regardless of what is causing the destruction…be it aliens, robots, zombies, natural disasters, something else or any combination of these. Really, there is no limit to the ideas you can come up with as a world ending or changing catastrophe.

This is going to be my first Apocalypse Week, but I plan on doing many more. I’m pulling from a few different types of film and tv for this too as the ones I chose for this week are:

Akira (1988)

The Trigun Pilot

World War Z (2013)

The Battlestar Galactica Mini-Series Pilot

and Darren Aronofsky’s Noah (2014)

Each of these are quite different in how they have the end and in how that end is brought about. In the case of “Akira,” “Trigun” and “Battlestar Galactica” they are already things I like, so I’m curious how they’ll hold up since it has been years since I’ve watched them. I have not seen “World War Z” or “Noah” so am also curious about those two films too.

Until than, thanks for reading and now is the time to explore many different apocalypses.

Leave a Reply

